top of page

Movie Time!!


Me : TV is good for something.

Friend : No-o-o-o, TV is bad, bad bad! Why don't you pick up a book instead?

I know, I know ... Leaders are readers, and some may even go on to say that successful people make TV, while unsuccessful people watch successful people on TV ( Ref Alux YouTube channel - for aspiring billionaires).

But man, there is some good TV, and I'll tell you why.

I am a self-confessed couch potato. I hate it, and I've gotta change it, but I just like watching people, but to be honest more than anything I like learning from them.

I personally loathe a lot of the stuff on TV these days. I feel like Hollywood has a certain agenda that they are trying to push, and they are showing it down in throats in bucket loads. Please, please, please be careful what you watch and put into your mind. I'm often aware that I have watched something bad for me when I have nightmares or I wake up in the middle of the night worried, anxious or plain fearful.

What you watch absolutely and totally affects your frame of mind, what you think, how you feel, and what you do ... and I'm sure by now we are all aware of the law of attraction. If you watch bad stuff (and I'm sure we all know what's bad for us .... violence, sexually charged scenes etc) these things become part of us and if we do not take heed and guard ourselves from them, they might manifest in our lives. So again, and this is a couch potato speaking, please, please, please be careful what you watch!

Now like I mentioned earlier in this article, when I'm on my couch I try by all means to watch me some good TV. Good TV to me is something that inspires me, educates me or moves me into action, or something that sparks a light bulb moment, "Ding!"

And In 2017, whilst separating the wool from the chaff on TV i did come across some good TV. Take a look, and let me know what you think.

1) The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio

Oh my, this movie! ... Now, I've always considered myself a lucky ole' gal! I would say that I win roughly 50% of the competitions that I enter. I haven't entered many truth be told, but these are the prizes that I have won in my life from my recollection:

In Grade 7 I was one of the people that were conducting a raffle, but as it turns out I had also bought a ticket in this raffle (I was allowed to) and I won a T-shirt, albeit oversized one. I gave it to my Dad.

When I was 22 at my first job after college I won a jacket in another raffle draw, albeit oversized again. I'm tiny! I gave it to my mom.

In my mid 20s I won a hamper of chocolates. I was just going about my business in a shop and I bought a chocolate. I had heard of the competition to possibly win a voucher, but had never taken heed. But this particular day, the merchandiser insisted that I enter the draw, which I did and about 2 months later I got a call to say that I had won a hamper full of chocolates, probably worth $100, from the purchase of a $1 chocolate. That hamper I did consume .... and a few years later I had to have a tooth pulled .... story for another day, tsk, tsk.

In my late 20s I entered another raffle draw and I won 2 movie tickets.

So, when I watched 'The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio' I thought wow, i'm a pretty lucky gal, let me get on the bandwagon. Who knows, maybe this time i'll win some real stuff ... $10,000, $100,000, a house, a car, a trip of a lifetime ... Yep, it's good to dream. Anyway, watch the movie!

2) Around the World in 80 Days

This movie came out a while ago, and I had watched it at the time it came out. But when I watched it again in 2018, it brought new meaning to my life. I mean, wow ... travelling around the world in 80 days. Fantastic! At the time of this writing ... and viewing, I had only been to 6 countries, at 32 years of age, and I thought wow ... wouldn't it be great to travel around the world in 80 days? I found myself sheepishly writing every destination Passportout and his boss traveled to during the days ... from London, UK - Paris, France, -Istanbul, Turkey - Mumbai, Calcutta, Agra in India - Himalayas, The Great Wall of China in China - San Francisco, New York in USA - London, UK.

I was in awe and I wanted in, and after watching The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio, I thought to myself, "Okay, ... maybe I can win some trips around the world ..."

3) Julie and Julia

Ah yes, where this whole UnPlain Jayne blog was conceived and birthed. Julie and Julia is about a blogger (Julie) who is inspired by reading a cook book written by a self-taught home chef (Julia) that was written years ago. Julie is at a crossroads in her life. she hates a her job and practically her life, and she;s trying to find herself. she throws herself into Julia's book and she starts writing a blog about Julia's recipes and her interpretation of them. and by the way this is before blogs were a thing. they were so new onto the scene, and boy , did her blog blossom. If you're a blogger or an aspiring blogger, this is a must-see movie!

4) Babe and Charlotte's Web

Both movies about little talking piggies, and both adorable. such feel good movies, the pair of them. These are stories about pigs who in both instances are just about to be butchered, but they find a way to get into the heats of their owners and both are saved from being served as bacon on Christmas morning or pork chops and sausage at Christmas Dinner. They are stories of love and courage. They are wonderful movies that humanizes pigs, and indeed all creatures, and ... maybe an agenda for veganism, lol, I don't know. Heart warming movies for vegans and omnivores alike.

5) Speaking of veganism, What the Health

This is a movie that tackles the issue of health and reinforces what we've known all along ... you are what you eat, and to quote the philosopher, Hippocrates, "Let food be thy medicine, and medicine be they food." This controversial documentary changed my life and the way I look at food. suffice it to say, I'm now a vegan!

6) The Blind Side, The Walk and Walt Before Mickey

these are the 3 most inspirational movies I watched this year. I know the greatest nation in the world is imagination, but I tell you inspiration is a close second. Watching all 3 movies will move you, and inspire you to go after all your dreams.

7) Speaking of going after your dreams, please do watch again, The Bucket List

This is a movie from a while back, but watching it again inspired me to reach for my dreams and live my life to the full. I'll tell you, 2017 was a very hard year for me emotionally. I lost so many people I knew, young people whose lives were cut short out of the blue and suddenly, and mostly through car accidents. That, coupled with the fact that I was almost in an accident myself made me very fearful, and I even began to struggle with hypochondria. But I'm so glad that the Lord comforted me and allowed me to heal and he restored my faith. Now, I have peace, and I recite Psalm 91 every day to keep myself, my family and my loved ones protected covered by the blood of Jesus.

My experiences made me even more grateful for life, and I am now determined to honor God with my life by living it fully and wholeheartedly and with joy. 'The Bucket List' gave me a renewed sense of drive to go after all the things I want in life. You should watch it too to reignite the fire in your belly.

All of the movies above changed me this year and their lessons continue to linger on and change me. Watch these and other honorable mentions such as The Secret and Marie Forleo TV to continue to be inspired and motivated to live your best life and be the best person you can possibly be. In everything always guard your heart and mind.

Love and blessings,

Jayne

©2017 by UnPlain Jayne. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page